General Elections and President’s Rule in Nagaland

President’s Rule have been imposed in Nagaland for four times since creation of Statehood in 1963 as given in the list ahead.

What is President’s Rule?

  • In India, President’s rule refers to suspension of state government and imposition of direct Central Government rule in a state.
  • Under Article 356 of the Constitution of India, in the event that a state government is unable to function according to the constitutional provisions, the Central government can take direct control of the state machinery.
  • Executive authority is exercised through the centrally appointed governor, who has the authority to appoint other administrators to assist them. The administrators are usually nonpartisan retired civil servants.
  • During President’s rule, the Council of Ministers is dissolved, vacating the office of Chief Minister.
  • The State Legislative assembly or Vidhan Sabha is either prorogued or dissolved, necessitating a new election.

When a state government is functioning correctly, the State is run by an elected Council of Ministers from the state’s legislative assembly (Vidhan Sabha). The council of ministers is led by the Chief Minister.

  • The Chief Minister is the chief executive of the state.
  • The Governor is only a constitutional head.

General Election vis-à-vis President’s Rule in Nagaland (with Dates)

  • 1st General Election – January 10-16, 1964
  • 2nd General Election – February 6, 1969
  • 3rd General Election – February 12-16, 1974

President’s Rule – 20-Mar-1975 To 25-Nov-1977  (2 years, 250 days )

  • 4th General Election – 18.11.1977
  • 5th General Election – 10.11.1982
  • 6th General Election – 18.11.1987

President’s Rule -07-Aug-1988 to 25-Jan-1989 (171 days )

  • 7th General Election – 21.01.1989

President’s Rule – 02-Apr-1992 to 22-Feb-1993 (326 days )

  • 8th General Election – February 15-22, 1993
  • 9th General Election – February 23, 1998
  • 10th General Election – February 26, 2003

President’s Rule – 03-Jan-2008 to 12-Mar-2008 (69 days )

  • 11th General Election – March 5, 2008
  • 12th General Election – February 23, 2013
  • 13th General Election – 27 February, 2018
  • 13th General Election – 27 February 2023

President’s Rule in Nagaland

President’s rule in Nagaland has been imposed for four times. Details are as given below.

  1. First President’s rule in Nagaland:
    • From 20-Mar-1975 To 25-Nov-1977  (2 years, 250 days )
    • The longest President’s Rule in Nagaland so far.
    • Cause: Defections and counter defections led to imposition of President’s rule
    • Governor: L.P. Singh, ICS
  2. Second President’s rule in Nagaland:
    • From 07-Aug-1988 to 25-Jan-1989 (171 days )
    • Cause: The state was under a brief spell of central rule after the Hokishe Sema-led Congress government was reduced to a minority.
    • Governor: Gen.(Retd.) K. V. Krishna Rao
  3. Third President’s rule in Nagaland:
    • From 02-Apr-1992 to 22-Feb-1993 (326 days )
    • Cause: Fluid party position and deteriorating law and order situation
    • Governor: Dr. M.M. Thomas (9 May 1990 to 12 April 1992), Loknath Mishra 13 April 1992 to 1 October 1993
  4. Fourth President’s rule in Nagaland:
    • From 03-Jan-2008 to 12-Mar-2008 (69 days )
    • The shortest President’s Rule in Nagaland so far.
    • Cause: Government dismissed after controversial confidence vote secured in the Assembly by CM Neiphiu Rio
    • Governor: Governor K Shankaranarayanan