Nagaland Lok Sabha Election 2024 – Brief Notes

Brief notes on the Nagaland Lok Sabha Election 2024 – covering poll dates, candidates, parties and results.

The first 1st Lok Sabha election was held between 25 October 1951 and 21 February 1952 for 489 seats of the first Lok Sabha. The first Lok Sabha election in Nagaland was held in 1967.

The Lok Sabha Election scheduled in 2024 is the 18th Lok Sabha Election. Voting will take place in 7 phases.

The Lok Sabha comprises of a total of 545 seats. Out of these, elections will be conducted by the Election Commission to fill 543 seats. The remaining two seats are filled by nomination of representatives of the Anglo-Indian Community if the President feels that this community has not been represented adequately.

Basic Facts: Nagaland Lok Sabha Election 2024

Total Lok Sabha Seats: 1
Total candidates: 3
Date of Poll: 19 April 2024 (Phase 1)

Total Polling Stations in Nagaland: 2342
Urban Polling Stations: 540
Rural Polling Station: 1802
All women managed polling station: 513
Polling Stations manned by youth: 18
Model polling stations: 51
PwD managed polling stations: 4
(one each in Kohima, Phek, Mokokchung, and Tuensang)
Webcasting in polling stations: 1097

Total Electorate in Nagaland: 13,25,383
Male electorate: 6,64,460
Female electorate: 6,60,923

Elector Gender Ratio: 1006
Average Electors per Polling Station: 563

Voters by categories:
PwD voters: 6707 , Service Voters: 7847,
85+ voters: 22140, 100+ voters: 1881 

Brief Facts Nagaland Lok Sabha election 2024


How many Lok Sabha seats are there in Nagaland?

  • One (1) : Nagaland has only one (1) Lok Sabha constituency.
  • Incumbent: Tokheho Yepthomi (Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party)

How many candidates are competing in the Nagaland Lok Sabha Election 2024?

  • Three (3).
  • Dr. Chumben Murry (Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party)
  • S Supongmeren Jamir (Indian National Congress)
  • Hayithung Tungoe Lotha (Independent)
Nagaland Lok Sabha election 2024-candidates 2024
  • No voter turnout in Eastern Nagaland due to election boycott in six districts of Eastern Nagaland. This is the first time in the history of Nagaland.
    Reason: Due to the call by Eastern Nagaland People’s Organization (ENPO) to abstain from the Nagaland Lok Sabha Election 2024 over dissatisfaction with the Government of India regarding ‘Frontier Nagaland’ demand of ENPO.
  • ENPO represents seven (7) Naga Tribes – Chang, Khiamniungan, Sangtam, Konyak, Phom, Yimkhiung and Tikhir.
  • ENPO represents people living in six (6) districts – Tuensang, Mon, Kiphire, Longleng, Noklak and Shamator.

Nagaland Lok Sabha Election 2024 Result:

To be updated.

Previous Lok Sabha MPs from Nagaland

  • First Rajya Sabha MP from Nagaland: Melhupra Vero (1964)
  • First Lok Sabha MP from Nagaland: S C Jamir (1967)
  • First woman Lok Sabha MP from Nagaland: Rano M. Shaiza (1977)
  • First woman Rajya Sabha MP from Nagaland: S Phangnon Konyak (202

Leave a Comment