List of Chief Ministers of Nagaland

List of Chief Ministers of Nagaland since 1963

[Note: If you are viewing this page in mobile, scroll / swipe the table to see all columns]

S.NoNameConstituencyStart of office termEnd of Office TermPolitical PartyDays in office
1P. Shilu AoImpur, Kohima01-Dec-6314-Aug-66Naga Nationalist Organisation987 days
2T. N. AngamiWestern Angami, Kohima14-Aug-6622-Feb-69Naga Nationalist Organisation924 days
3Hokishe SemaAkuluto, Zunheboto22-Feb-6926-Feb-74Naga Nationalist Organisation1831 days
4Vizol AngamiSouthern Angami-II, Kohima26-Feb-7410-Mar-75United Democratic Front378 days
5John Bosco JasokieKohima Town, Kohima10-Mar-7520-Mar-75Naga National Democratic Party11 days
6Vacant(President’s rule)20-Mar-7525-Nov-77N/A
7Vizol AngamiSouthern Angami-II, Kohima25-Nov-7718-Apr-80United Democratic Front876 days [Total 1254 days]
8S. C. JamirAonglenden, Mokokchung18-Apr-8005-Jun-80United Democratic Front—Progressive49 days
9John Bosco JasokieKohima Town, Kohima05-Jun-8018-Nov-82Naga National Democratic Party897 days [Total 908 days]
10S. C. JamirAonglenden, Mokokchung18-Nov-8228-Oct-86United Democratic Front—Progressive1440 days
11Hokishe SemaDimapur 129-Oct-8607-Aug-88Indian National Congress648 days [Total 2479 days]
12Vacant(President’s rule)07-Aug-8825-Jan-89N/A
13S. C. JamirMokokchung Town25-Jan-8910-May-90Indian National Congress471 days
14K. L. ChishiAtoizu, Zunheboto16-May-9019-Jun-90Indian National Congress36 days
15Vamuzo PhesaoChozuba, Phek19-Jun-9002-Apr-92Nagaland People’s Council653 days
16Vacant(President’s rule)02-Apr-9222-Feb-93N/A
17S. C. JamirAonglenden, Mokokchung22-Feb-9306-Mar-03Indian National Congress3665 days [Total 5625 days]
18Neiphiu RioNorthern Angami-II, Kohima06-Mar-0303-Jan-08Nagaland People’s Front1767 days
19Vacant(President’s rule)03-Jan-0812-Mar-08N/A
20Neiphiu RioNorthern Angami-II, Kohima12-Mar-0824-May-14Nagaland People’s Front2264
21T. R. ZeliangPeren24-May-1422-Feb-17Nagaland People’s Front1005
22Shurhozelie LiezietsuNorthern Angami-I, Kohima22-Feb-1719-Jul-17Nagaland People’s Front147
23T. R. ZeliangPeren19-Jul-1708-Mar-18Nagaland People’s Front232
24Neiphiu RioNorthern Angami-II, Kohima08-Mar-18IncumbentNationalist Democratic Progressive Party
  • CM who served the longest in a single term:

    • P. Shilu Ao (Impur) from 01-Dec-63 to 14-Aug-66 (987 days).

  • CM who served the longest – multiple terms combined:

    • S.C. Jamir (four times – total days: 5625 days)

Leave a Reply