Regional and National Political Parties in Nagaland

political parties in nagaland

Regional and National Political Parties in Nagaland

Major National Political Parties in Nagaland

  • Indian National Congress (INC)
    • Hokishe Sema is the first Chief Minister from INC party in 1986.
  • Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)

Minor National-Level Political Parties in Nagaland

  • National People’s Party (NPP)
  • Janata Dal (United) (JDU)
  • Nationalist Congress Party (NCP)
  • Trinamool Congress (TMC)
  • Lok Janashakti Party (LJP)
  • Aam Aadmi Party (AAP)

Regional Political Parties from Nagaland

Naga People’s Front (NPF)


  • Founded in 2002
  • Motto: Fide Non Arms (By faith, not by arms)
  • Prior to October 2002, the party was known as Nagaland People’s Council (NPC)
  • Dr. Shurhozelie Liezietsu is the president of NPF (as of 2018)

Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP)

Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party Nagaland

  • Founded in 2017
  • Motto: Facta Non Verba (Deeds, not words)
  • Democratic Progressive Party was formed in 2017 by some dissidents of Naga Peoples Front.
  • In October 2017, Democratic Progressive Party was renamed as Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party.
  • Chingwang Konyak is the president of NDPP (as of 2018)

Naga National Democratic Party (NNDP)

  • Founded in 1964
  • NNDP party was formed from the merger of United Democratric Front and Naga National Party

United Naga Democratic Party (UNDP)

  • Launched in 2008 in Wokha
  • Motto: ‘Peace and Prosperity.’

Other Defunct / Renamed / Merged Regional Political Parties of Nagaland

  • Naga Peoples Convention  – merged with Naga Nationalist Organisation
  • Naga Nationalist Organisation (NNO) – merged with Congress
    • The first three Chief Ministers of Nagaland – P.Shilu Ao, T.N. Angami and Hokishe Sema are from Naga Nationalist Organisation (NNO) party.
  • United Democratic Front (UDF) -merged into Naga National Democratic Party
    • Vizol Angami, the 4th Chief Minister of Nagaland is from United Democratic Front party.
  • United Democratic Front – Progressive (UDF-P) -merged with Congress
  • Nagaland People’s Council (NPC) -later renamed as Nagaland Peoples Front
  • Nagaland Democratic Party (NDP) – formed 1999 -merged with Nagaland Peoples Front
  • Naga National Party (NNP) -merged into Naga National Democratic Party
  • Nationalist Democratic Movement (NDM) -merged with BJP
  • Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) -renamed as Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party
  • Nagaland Congress (NC) -merged with NPP

Leave a Comment