The five women contestants -Nagaland Assembly Elections 2018

The only time when a woman from Nagaland was elected was in 1977 when Rano M. Shaiza defeated the Hokishe Sema to be elected as Member of Parliament to the Lok Sabha. She became the first woman Member of Parliament from Nagaland

However, Nagaland has never seen a woman being elected into the state legislative assembly. And, for the first time in the history of Nagaland, five women candidates contested in the Nagaland State Legislative Elections 2018.

Here is the list of the five women candidates of Nagaland State Legislative Elections 2018 who tried to make a difference in politics and break the status quo.

Smt.Wedie-U Kronu
Assembly Constituency: 3 Dimapur-III A/C
Party: NPP
Age at the time of contest: 27 years
Notable opponents: MLA Tokheho Yeptho (NDPP), former MLA Azheto Zhimomi (NPF)

Dr. K. Mangyangpula Chang
Assembly Constituency: Noksen A/C, Tuensang District
Party: NPP
Age at the time of contest: 45 years
Notable opponents: CM Chang

Smt.Awan Konyak
Assembly Constituency: Aboi A/C, Mon District
Party: NDPP
Age at the time of contest: 38 years

Assembly Constituency: Tuensang Sadar-II A/C, Tuensang District
Party: BJP
Age at the time of contest: 66 years
Notable opponent: Kejong Chang, present Minister

Smt. Rekha Rose Dukru
Assembly Constituency: Chizami A/C, Phek District
Party: Independent Candidate
Age at the time of contest: 35 years
Notable opponent: Deo Nukhu, incumbent Minister