Tribes of Nagaland and Districts

Naga Tribes Primary Districts

A brief summary of the Naga Tribes of Nagaland and their Territory / Districts or primary place of habitation in Nagaland.

The word ‘Naga’ is a vaguely defined umbrella term for several indigenous communities in North-East India and Western Burma. In India Nagas are found in Nagaland, four Districts in Manipur, one District in Assam and two Districts in Arunachal Pradesh. In addition to this, many Nagas also inhabit Western parts of Myanmar (Burma). Refer this link for theories on origin of the word ‘Naga‘.

Nagaland is a hilly state in the North East of India and is home to several tribes. Nagaland state is comprised of 12 districts as of 2020. There are officially 16 recognized tribes by the Nagaland Government.

The ‘Sixteen (16) Recognized Tribes of Nagaland’ includes the following —

Angami, Ao, Chakhesang, Chang, Dimasa Kachari, Khiamniungan, Konyak, Kuki, Lotha, Phom, Pochury, Rengma, Sangtam, Sumi, Yimchunger, and Zeme-Liangmai (Zeliang)

Districts of Nagaland and inhabitants:

[Note: If you are viewing this on mobile device, swipe / scroll horizontally on the table to see all columns]

[To be Updated]

District / TerritoryMajor / Primary Inhabitants
Meluri (Phek)Pochury
TuensangChang, Sangtam, Yimkhiung
KiphireYimkhiung, Sangtam, Sumi
PerenZeliang, Kuki


  • The tribes and districts listed above is just an indication of the primary inhabitants of the districts. There are some tribes which are also found in multiple districts. For example: Kiphire is inhabited by Yimchungrü, Sangtam and Sumi Naga tribes.
  • Some Naga tribes listed above can be found in across several states and in Myanmar also.
  • The term Naga is a generic term which includes various tribes generally found inhabiting Nagaland, Assam, Manipur, Arunachal Pradesh and Myanmar (Burma). The above list is only the tribes in Nagaland.

Read More:  List of recognized Naga tribes of Nagaland