Home » Articles » List of the firsts – Nagaland

List of the firsts – Nagaland

List of the firsts of/in Nagaland


  • First Chairman of the Interim body: Imkongliba Ao
  • First President of NNC: T. Aliba Imti
  • First Political ’Martyr in the Naga Independence Struggle: Zasibito Nagi
  • First president of the Women’s Federation, Naga National Council: Rano M. Shaiza


  • First Governor of Nagaland: Vishnu Sahay
  • First Chief Secretary of Nagaland: U N Sharma
  • First Woman Chief Secretary of Nagaland: Banuo Z Jamir (2014)
  • First Chief Minister of Nagaland: P Shilu Ao
  • First Naga to be appointed as Governor of an Indian State: Hokishe Sema
  • First Lokayukta of Nagaland: Justice Uma Nath Singh
  • First Upa-Lokayukta of Nagaland: Mayang Lima, Principal District & Session Judge (Retd)
  • First Speaker of Nagaland: T N Angami
  • First Deputy Speaker of the Nagaland Legislative Assembly: K.Shikhu Sema
  • First Secretary of the Nagaland Legislative Assembly: H. Zopianga
  • First Rajya Sabha MP from Nagaland: Melhupra Vero
  • First Lok Sabha MP from Nagaland: S C Jamir
  • First woman Member of Parliament / Lok Sabha from Nagaland: Rano M. Shaiza
  • First Naga Woman President of the United Democratic Party, Nagaland:  Rano M. Shaiza
  • First Naga Woman to be Chairman of a Village Council : Tokheli Kikon, of Naharbari Village, Dimapur
  • The first Women Police Station in Nagaland: Women Police Station, Kohima (October 19, 2016) – headed by Inspector Ari Thapru as the Officer-in-Charge).
  • The first Chairman of Nagaland Public Service Commission: Shri K. Sachidanandam (03.03.66 to 23.02.67)


  • First Naga officer: A. Kevichusa
  • First Naga to be a magistrate of British India: A. Kevichusa
  • First Naga IAS Officer: A. Kevichusa
  • First Naga woman to become an IAS officer: Banuo Z. Jamir
  • First Naga lady IPS Officer: Amongla Aier
  • First Naga medical doctor: Dr. Harielungbe Haralu (Poilwa village, Peren)
  • First Woman Pilot from Naga Tribe: Roveinai Poumai (from Manipur)
  • First Naga to serve as an Indian ambassador: Ms. Neichulieu Nikki Haralu , (Retd) IFS
  • First Naga to become judge of Supreme Court of India: Hon’ble Mr. Justice H.K. Sema (appointed on 9th April, 2002)
  • First Naga novelist to write in English: Easterine Kire
  • First girl of NCC Nagaland to fly a sortie: Cdt Senchumbeni
  • First woman doctor among the Sumi Tribe: Dr Toshevi Keditsu Sema ( MBBS from Gauhati Medical College in 1977 )
  • The first Naga or the first Naga Woman to be appointed as a Member of the UPSC: Dr. P. Kilemsungla (2015)
  • The first Naga woman member of Nagaland Public Service Commission (NPSC): Dr. P. Kilemsungla (01.02.2007 to12.09.2012, and performed as Acting Chairman from 13.09.12 to 31.01.2013)
  • The First Transgender Model frm Nagaland : Kenny Awomi (Read More)


  • First Naga matriculate (passed class 10): Neilhouzhu Kire
  • First Naga Graduate: A. Kevichusa
  • First School of Engineering in the State of Nagaland: Nagaland University’s School of Engineering & Technology, established in 2007 at D.C. Court Junction, Dimapur, Nagaland.
  • First Autonomous College in the North East / Nagaland: Patkai Christian College (Estd: 1974), Dimapur, Nagaland


  • First recipient of KING SCOUT from Nagaland: Samuel Mezhur Sekhose
  • First Naga to be awarded the British Empire Medal (BEM): Samuel Mezhur Sekhose
  • First Naga or Naga Woman to conquer Mount Everest: Major (Dr.) Neikhrietuonuo Ginuo Linyu
  • First from Nagaland to get YouTube’s Silver Creator Award: Dreamz Unlimited (in 2019)


  • First Naga Olympian: Dr. Talimeren Ao (Football)
  • First Naga Woman (or second Naga) Olympian: Chekrovolu Swuro (Archery )
  • First Naga to captain a football team: Dr. Talimeren Ao
  • First Naga First Class Cricketer: Hokaito Zhimomi
  • First Naga in IPL Cricket: Hokaito Zhimomi
  • The First Naga sportsman to represent India at the Asian Games for “Sepak Takraw” : Viseyie Koso (China,  2010)
  • First Naga cricketer to score a century in first-class cricket: Rongsen Jonathan (Ranji Trophy 2018-2019)
  • First footballer from Nagaland to be signed by an Indian Super League (ISL) club: Kivi Zhimomi, North East United FC (2018)
  • First Naga to join an European football club: Ratobe Poireng, Lilla Torg FF in Sweden (August 2019)


  • First Naga to be baptized: Hubi (12th September 1847 – Source: NBCC History)
  • First Missionary to Nagaland: E W Clark (1869)
  • First Baptist missionary to the Nagas: Reverend Miles Bronson
  • First Evangelist to the Nagas: Godhula
  • First Baptist Church in Nagaland: Molungkimong (by E.W.Clark in 1872)
  • First Naga tribe to embrace Christianity: Ao
  • First Naga Baptist Church in USA: Dallas Fort Worth (DFW), Texas, US (officially inaugurated on 11 August 2019)


  • First Newspaper of Nagaland: Nagaland Post
  • First Newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour: Nagaland Post
  • First Mobile Service launched in Nagaland: BSNL mobile service in 2003. Launched by Atal Bihari Vajpayee at Kohima


  • First from Nagaland to get YouTube’s Silver Creator Award: Dreamz Unlimited
  • First YouTube Channel from Nagaland to cross 100,000 subscribers: Dreamz Unlimited (on August 5, 2018)
  • First Virtual Reality (VR) Lounge launched in Nagaland at: The Hammock Resort, Wokha (on 22 April 2019)


  • The most Baptist state in the world: Nagaland
  • First in North East to get level 2 food laboratory: Nagaland Food Laboratory
  • First Mini Gene Bank: State Agriculture Research Station (SARS) Yisemyong, Mokokchung , inaugurated on May 24, 2019.
  • First in Nagaland to introduce Kangaroo Mother Care (KMC): District Hospital Kiphire

[To be further updated]

Leave a comment: