List of Municipal Councils and Town Councils in Nagaland – Nagaland Municipal Act, 2001

Municipal governance in India has existed since the year 1687, with the formation of Madras Municipal Corporation, and then Calcutta and Bombay Municipal Corporation in 1726.

The types of Municipalities and its constitution is defined in “Article 243Q of PART IXA – THE MUNICIPALITIES” of the Constitution of India.

243Q. Constitution of Municipalities.—

(1) There shall be constituted in every State,—
(a) a Nagar Panchayat (by whatever name called) for a transitional area, that is to say, an area in transition from a rural area to an urban area.
(b) a Municipal Council for a smaller urban area; and
(c) a Municipal Corporation for a larger urban area, in accordance with the provisions of this Part:


Thus, Urban local bodies (ULBs) in the country are classified into the three major categories:

  1. Municipal corporation (Nagar Nigam)
  2. Municipal Council (Nagar Palika Parishad)
  3. Town Areas (Nagar Panchayat)

Brief  information on Nagaland Municipal Act 2001:

  • Nagaland Municipal Act was passed by the state assembly in 2001.
  • first election was held in 2004 in 2{two} Municipal Councils and 16{sixteen} Town Councils in 2004.
  • Nagaland Municipal Act was later amended in 2006, also incorporating 33% Women reservation in accordance with the provisions contained the article 243-T of the Constitution

Under Nagaland Municipal Act, 2001, three Municipal Councils were created:

  1. Kohima Municipal Council
  2. Dimapur Municipal Council
  3. Mokokchung Municipal Council

Town Councils created under Nagaland Municipal Act, 2001:

  1. Wokha Town Council
  2. Zunheboto Town Council
  3. Tuensang Town Council
  4. Mon Town Council
  5. Pfutsero Town Council
  6. Peren Town Council
  7. Medziphema Town Council
  8. Chumukedima Town Council
  9. Longleng Town Council
  10. Tuli Town Council
  11. Changtongya Town Council
  12. Naginimora Town Council
  13. Kiphire Town Council
  14. Tseminyu Town Council
  15. Phek Town Council
  16. Jalukie Town Council

In addition, Four Town Committee have been upgraded to full-fledged Town Councils in 2016- 

  1. Shamator Town Council, Tuensang District
  2. Noklak Town Council, Noklak District (earlier under Tuensang District)
  3. Aboi Town Council, Mon District
  4. Meluri Town Council, Phek District

Population size of Municipal Council and Town Council as per Nagaland Municipal Act, 2001:

  • Municipal Council: area where the population of such area is 20,000 and above
  • Town Council: area where the population of such area is below 20,000 but not less than 5,000

Reference (External Link): Nagaland Municipal Act 2001