Home » Articles » Basic Facts on Nagaland State

Basic Facts on Nagaland State

Some Basic facts on formation of Nagaland State:

  • On the 1st December 1963 Nagaland was inaugurated as the 16th state of India, with its capital at Kohima.
  • The major part of what is now Nagaland (excluding its eastern side consisting of Tuensang and Mon Districts) was formerly known as Naga Hills, a District of Assam under the Bengal Presidency under the British Rule.
  • The District of Naga Hills was opened in 1866 with its headquarters at Samaguting in the west in the foothills about 15 km away from Dimapur. Later the district headquarters was shifted to Wokha in 1876 and two years later in 1878 it was shifted to Kohima.
  • On 1 December 1957, Tuensang Frontier Division was separated from NEFA and attached to the newly formed Naga Hills district to form a centrally governed Naga Hills-Tuensang Area with creation of Kohima, Mokokchung and Tuensang districts.In February 1961, Naga Hills Tuensang Area was renamed to “Nagaland“, and on 1 December 1963, Nagaland became the 16th state of India.

(For more details, refer “History of formation of Nagaland and its districts“)

General Information on Nagaland:

  • Official Language – English
  • Altitude varies from 194 m to 3048 m above sea level (Kohima – 1,444 m)
  • 16 recognized tribes of Nagaland: Angami, Ao, Chakhesang, Chang, Kachari, Khiamniungan, Konyak, Kuki, Lotha, Phom, Pochury, Rengma, Sangtam, Sumi, Yimchunger, and Zeliang
  • Official Language – English
  • Type of Legislative Assembly: unicameral
  • No. of Assembly Constituencies seats: 60
  • No. of Parliamentary Constituency (Lok Sabha): 1
  • No. of Parliamentary Constituency (Rajya Sabha): 1

Nagaland State Symbols:

    • State Animal: Mithun
    • State Bird: Blyth’s tragopan (Tragopan blythii)
    • State Flower: Rhododendron
    • State Tree: Alder

Recognised Tribes of Nagaland –

Recognised Naga Tribes in Nagaland State:

  1. Angami
  2. Ao
  3. Chakhesang
  4. Chang
  5. Khiamnuingam
  6. Konyak
  7. Lotha
  8. Phom
  9. Pochury
  10. Rengma
  11. Sangtam
  12. Sumi
  13. Yimchungru
  14. Zeliang

Other Scheduled Tribes recognized by the Government:

  1. Garo
  2. Kachari
  3. Kuki
  4. Mikir
  5. Naga

Reference: Dept. Personnel and Administrative Reforms

Backward Naga Tribes of Nagaland:

The following nine (9) Naga Tribes are considered ‘backward tribes’ for the purpose of reservation namely – Chakhesang, Chang, Khiamniungan, Konyak, Phom, Pochury, Sangtam, Yimchunger and Zeliang. Besides the above, ‘Sumis’ from Kiphire District are also entitled reservations under backward category.

Reference: nagaland.gov.in

Nagaland Census Related Basic Facts (Census 2011)

  • Population – 19,78,502 Persons (Census 2011)
  • Density of Population – 119 per sq. km (Census 2011) (National average is 382 per sq km)(2011 Census)
  • Sex Ratio – 931 F: 1000 M
  • Literacy Rate – 79.55%
    a. Male – 82.75 %
    b. Female – 70.01%
  • Male: 10,24,649 (2011 Census)
  • Female: 9,53,853 (2011 Census)
  • Human Development Index (HDI): 0.770 (high)


  • Total Area: 16,579 square kilometers (6,401 sq mi)
  • Area rank: 26th in India
  • Capital: Kohima (Altitude: 1,444.12 Mtrs. above Sea Level)
  • Districts: 12 (since 21 December 2017 with addition of Noklak)
  • Districts:
    (1) Kohima (2) Mokokchung (3) Tuensang (4) Mon (5) Wokha (6) Zunheboto (7) Phek (8) Dimapur  (9) Peren (10) Longleng (11) Kiphire (12)Noklak 
  • Nagaland lies lies between 25° 6’ N and 27° 4’ N Latitude and between 93° 20’ E and 95° 15’ E Longitude
  • Nagaland State Boundaries –
    East – Myanmar & Arunachal Pradesh
    West – Assam
    North – Assam & Arunachal Pradesh
    South – Manipur.
  • Largest city: Dimapur
  • Largest District: Tuensang
  • Smallest District: Longleng
  • Biggest Village:  Kohima Village (considered to be the second largest village in Asia)


  • Highest Peak: Mount Saramati
  • Biggest river: Doyang, Wokha
  • Biggest Lake: Shilloi Lake, Phek
  • Soil Types: ferrugineous red soils and laterites
  • Seismic Zone: Zone V (Very High Damage Risk Zone) of the seismic zoning map of India


  • Nagaland enjoys a pleasant and moderate climate throughout the year.
  • Climate in Nagaland is classified as Sub-Alpine climate / salubrious climate.
  • Annual rainfall averages around 70–100 inches (1,800–2,500 mm), concentrated in the months of May to September.
  • Temperatures range from 21 °C (70 °F) to 40 °C (104 °F )
  • Wind:  Strong Northwest winds generally during February and March.

Flora and fauna

Dominant flora: Mahogany, Palms, Rattan, Bamboo, Pinus Khasyia, Pinus Caribiae, Rubia cordifolia, Passiflora edulis, Oroxylum indicum, Elaeocarpus ganitrus, Dipterocarpous macrocarpous, Shorea assamica, Mesua ferra, Panax gensing, Aquilaria agallocha, Pleoni, Phauis, Cymbidium tigrinum etc.

Dominant fauna: Mammals – Tiger, Elephant, Wild Dog, Mithun, Hoolock Gibbon, Goral, Barking Deer, Kallej, Sloth Bear, Flying Squirrel, Buffaloes, Sloth bears, Palm civets, Leopards, Pangolins, Porcupine, Sambar, Elephants etc.

Forest types of Nagaland:

    • Northern Tropical Wet Evergreen Forests (found in parts of Mon District)
    • Northern Tropical Semi Evergreen Forests (found in foothills of Assam-Nagaland border in Mokokchung, Wokha and Kohima Districts)
    • Northern Sub-tropical Broad Leaved Wet Hill Forests (found in hill areas below 1800 m and above 500 m)
    • Northern Sub-tropical Pine Forests (found in hill elevation of 1000 meters to 1500 meters in parts of Phek and Tuensang Districts of Nagaland
    • Northern Montane Wet- temperate Forests (found on the higher reaches of the tallest mountains in Nagaland above 2000 meters in – Japfu, Saramati, Satoi, Chentang ranges.)
    • Temperate Forests (found in peaks of the tallest mountains (above 2500 meters) like Saramati and Dzukou area)

(More details on forests types of Nagaland here)

Rivers of Nagaland

  • The major rivers of Nagaland are: Doyang, Dhansiri, Dikhu, Milak, Zungki and Tizu.
  • Biggest / Longest river “in Nagaland”: Doyang
  • Rivers which drains into Brahmaputra: Doyang, Dikhu, Dhansiri flows westward and drains into Brahmaputra.
  • Rivers which drains into Chindwin river in Burma: Tizu river flows eastwards and drains into Chindwin river in Burma.

Nagaland has protected areas as under:

• Intangki National Park, Peren district > Area: 202.02 Sq. Kms.
• Rangapahar Wildlife Sanctuary, Dimapur district > Area: 4.70 Sq. Kms.
• Fakim Wildlife Sanctuary, Tuensang district > Area: 6.42 Sq. Kms.
• Puliebadze Wildlife Sanctuary, Kohima district > Area: 9.23 Sq. Kms.


Leave a comment: