Important Abbreviations – Nagaland

Some important abbreviations relevant to Nagaland for reference.

ABBRFull FormRemarksCategory
NECTARNagaland Enhancing Classroom Teaching and ResourcesUnder Department of School Education, Govt. of Nagaland
$68 million World Bank funded project to bring improvement in the management, teaching and learning in targeted schools.
MTFMusic Task ForceGovt. of Nagaland initiative created to encourage Naga musicians to take up music as a profession. Later renamed to TaFMA.Govt.
TaFMA Task Force for Music and ArtsUnder Department of Youth Resource and Sports. Earlier name: Music Task Force.Govt.
DUDADepartment of Under Developed AreasParticularly for Tuensang and Mon (including Longleng & Kiphire Districts) was created in 2003 with an objective to bring about socio-economic and infrastructural progress in the backward areas of Nagaland.Govt.
NSFNaga Students' FederationEstablished on 29 October 1947. Headquarters: Kohima, Nagaland, IndiaCSO
ENSFEastern Naga Students' Federation (ENSF)CSO
ENPO Eastern Naga Peoples' OrganisationEastern Nagaland comprises six districts – Tuensang, Mon, Longleng, Kiphire, Noklak and Shamator – which are inhabited by seven Naga tribes: Konyak, Khiamniungan, Chang, Sangtam, Tikhir, Phom and YimkhiungCSO
NPCNaga Peoples' ConventionOn the 22nd August, 1957, the Naga Peoples' Convention was held and the name 'Naga Peoples' Convention' was coined. Politics
NPFNaga People's FrontPolitics
NDPPNationalist Democratic Progressive PartyPolitics
RPPRising People's PartyPolitics
NPCCNagaland Pradesh Congress CommitteePolitics
NNCNaga National CouncilFormed 2nd February 1946 at Wokha. Later split into: NNC -A : Naga National Council (Accordist), NNC-NA : Naga National Council (Non-Accordist)Naga Nationalism
FGNFederal Government of Nagaland Name of the government of NNC. Naga Nationalism
GDRNGovernment Democratic Republic of NagalandName of the government of NNC (Non-Accordist)Naga Nationalism
NSCNNational Socialist Council of NagalandFormed: 1980Naga Nationalism
NSCN-IMNational Socialist Council of Nagaland (Isak - Muivah)Split from NSCN in 1988Naga Nationalism
GPRNGovernment of the People’s Republic of Nagaland Name of the government of NSCNNaga Nationalism
NSCN-KNational Socialist Council of Nagaland (Khaplang)Split from NSCN in 1988Naga Nationalism
NSCN - UNational Socialist Council of Nagaland (Unification)Naga Nationalism
NSCN-KKNational Socialist Council of Nagaland (Khole-Kitovi)Naga Nationalism
NSCN - RNational Socialist Council of Nagaland (Reformation)Naga Nationalism
NSCN (K-YA)National Socialist Council of Nagaland (Khaplang- Yung Aung)Naga Nationalism
NNPGs Naga National Political GroupsNaga Nationalism
FNRForum for Naga ReconciliationNaga Nationalism
CORCovenant of ReconciliationSigned on June 13, 2009 by top leaders of NSCN-K, NSCN-IM and NNC.Naga Nationalism
NEFANorth East Frontier AgencyPolitics
NHTANaga Hills - Tuensang AreaFormed 1 December 1957Politics
AFSPAArmed Forced (Special Powers) ActPromulgated by the President on 22nd May of 1958Govt.
NBCCNagaland Baptist Church CouncilFounded: 1937Religious
NPMHRNaga People’s Movement for Human RightsFormed: 1978, September 9NGOs
UNPOUnderrepresented Nations and People OrganisationNSCN-IM is a member since 23 January 1993.International
NCRCNagaland Christian Revival ChurchReligious
FNBAFellowship of Naga Baptist AssociationsEarlier known as Council of Naga Baptist Churches (CNBC) prior to March 2011.Religious
NMANaga Mothers’ AssociationNMA was established in 1984 in Kohima, against the backdrop of the Nagaland Conflict, rampant alcoholism, and drug problems. NGOs
BANBusiness Association of NagasGeneral
BASNBeauty & Aesthetics Society of NagalandNGOs
NLTPNagaland Liquor Total ProhibitionRefers to Nagaland Liquor Total Prohibition Act, 1989Acts & Rules
CMHISChief Minister Health Insurance SchemeLaunched on 14 Oct. 2022Schemes
NHAKNaga Hospital AuthorityEstablished in 1905Health
ILPInner Line PermitActs & Rules
BEFRBengal Eastern Frontier RegulationRefers to Bengal Eastern Frontier Regulation (BEFR), 1873Acts & Rules
APOAngami Public OrganisationCSO
DEFDistrict Executive ForceRelates to Police Dept.Police
NAP Nagaland Armed PoliceRelates to Police Dept.Police
NAP (IR)Nagaland Armed Police (Indian Reserve)Relates to Police Dept.Police
DGPDirector General of PoliceRelates to Police Dept.Police
ADGPAdditional Director General of PoliceRelates to Police Dept.Police
IGPInspector General of PoliceRelates to Police Dept.Police
AIGAssistant Inspector General of PoliceRelates to Police Dept.Police
DIGDeputy Inspector General of PoliceRelates to Police Dept.Police
DCPDeputy Commissioner of PoliceRelates to Police Dept.Police
ACPAssistant Commissioner of PoliceRelates to Police Dept.Police
STFSpecial Task ForceRelates to Police Dept.Police
NFRNorth-East Frontier RailwayGovt.
NOANagaland Olympic AssociationSports
CSOCivil Society OrganisationCSO
NPSCNagaland Public Service CommissionEstablished in 1965Govt.
NSSBNagaland Staff Selection BoardConstituted in 2020Govt.
NBSENagaland Board of School EducationFounded: 15 November 1973Govt.
ATIAdministrative Training InstituteGovt.
CEOChief Electoral OfficerGovt.
KMCKohima Municipal CouncilGovt.
DMCDimapur Municipal CouncilGovt.
NICNational Informatics CentreGovt.
NSACSNagaland State AIDS Control SocietyGovt.
NSDMANagaland State Disaster Management AuthorityGovt.
NSCWNagaland State Commission for WomenGovt.
NCSNagaland Civil ServiceGovt.
NSSNagaland Secretariat ServiceGovt.
PHEDPublic Health Engineering DepartmentGovt.
SCERTState Council of Educational Research and TrainingGovt.
SIRDState Institute of Rural DevelopmentGovt.
SRCWState Resource Centre for WomenGovt.
ANTAAll Nagaland Taxi AssociationNGOs
CIHSRChristian Institute of Health Sciences and ResearchHealth
DIPR Directorate of Information and Public Relations | Department of Information and Public RelationsGovt.
NLA Nagaland Legislative AssemblyGovt.
NSLSANagaland State Legal Services AuthoritiesGovt.
DPDBDistrict Planning & Development BoardGovt.
KSCDLKohima Smart City Development LimitedGovt.
ULB Urban Local BodiesGovt.
ANCSUAll Nagaland College Students’ UnionNGOs
ACAUT Against Corruption and Unabated TaxationCSO
IDANInvestment and Development Authority of NagalandCreated and notified by a Cabinet notification in June 2018Govt.
NMMNagaland Missionary Movement Founded 1979 under the aegis of NBCCReligious
AFSEZAgro & Food Processing Special Economic Zone Govt.
NIDCNagaland Industrial Development CorporationGovt.
CNTCCentral Nagaland Tribes CouncilApex body of the Ao, Lotha and Sumi tribesCSO
CNSACentral Nagaland Students' AssociationCSO
IDANInvestment & Development Authority of NagalandGovt.
ATIAdministrative Training InstituteGovt.


Leave a Reply