Home » Updates » Articles » General information on Nagaland Cricket Association

General information on Nagaland Cricket Association

Nagaland Cricket Association
Sport: Cricket
Jurisdiction: Nagaland
Affiliation: Board of Control for Cricket in India

  • Nagaland Cricket Association is the governing body of the Cricket activities in the Nagaland (India).
  • It is affiliated to the Board of Control for Cricket in India as a full member since 2018.

Nagaland’s debut first class cricket

  • Nagaland Cricket Association played it’s debut first class cricket in the “Vijay Hazare tournament” of the BCCI from September 19, 2018 in Gujarat. Captain: Jonathan Rongsen. Nagaland played its debut first class match against Bihar, which Nagaland lost by 8 wickets.
    • Nagaland Cricket Team at Vijay Hazare tournament 2018:

Nagaland’s first Ranji Trophy and first time, first class cricket host:

  • Nagaland Cricket Association hosted its first ever first class cricket at Nagaland Cricket Stadium, Sovima from November 12 to 15, 2018. This is Nagaland Cricket Association’s second participation in First Class Cricket tournament and Nagaland Cricket Association’s first time in Ranji Trophy.
  • Nagaland’s first ever Ranji Trophy match was played against Mizoram, where Nagaland Cricket Team made history by amassing a huge total of 530 runs. Nagaland became the first team to score 500-plus runs in Ranji Trophy debut match. Nagaland Cricket Team is one of the nine new teams in Ranji Trophy 2018-19.
  • Nagaland’s First Ranji Trophy match:
    • Played on: November 1 to 4, 2018
    • Venue: Nagaland Cricket Stadium, Sovima
    • Played against: Mizoram
    • Result: Nagaland: 530/8 declared, Mizoram: 106, 91-all out (41.4 Ovs)

Officials, Staff and Players -Nagaland Cricket Association:

Nagaland Cricket Team for Ranji Trophy 2018 – Pic. Source: morungexpress.com

The office-bearers: Neiphiu Rio (president), K. T. Sukhalu (vice-president), P. Bendang Jamir (vice-president), Abu Mehta (general secretary), A. Rahman (joint secretary), Basu Damani (treasurer).

The coaches: Kanwaljit Singh (senior men’s team), R. Muralidhar (under-23 men’s team), Samir Ghosh (under-19 men’s team), Uday Banerjee (under-16 men’s team), Khyati Gulani (senior women’s team), Keya Ray (under-23 and 19 women’s team).

The selectors: P. Bendang Jamir, Alum Zeliang, Lohrou Shani. Development committee: A. Rahman, Anihlo Khing, Kitching Sangtam.

Outstation guest players: K. B. Pawan (Karnataka), Pawan Suyal (Delhi), Abrar Kazi (Karnataka).